

Lower Connecticut River Valley Council of Governments and Lower Connecticut River Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization

MINUTES OF REGIONAL HOUSING COMMITTEE MEETING

Tuesday, August 27, 2024 – 2:00 PM

Members & Alternates Present: Pat Bandzes & Bonnie Bennet (Chester), Abby Piersall (Clinton), Daniel Smith (Deep River), Thomas Pinkowish (Essex), Bill Warner (Haddam), David Lahm (Lyme), Jim Irish (Middlefield), Marek Kozikowski (Middletown), Michael Fogliano (Old Lyme), Kathy Sugland (Old Saybrook), Eric Salmon (Westbrook)

Others Present: Ben Lovejoy (CT Dept. of Housing), Joann Hourigan (Deep River HA), Bill Neale (Westbrook), Don Poland (Goman & York)

RiverCOG Staff Present: Megan Jouflas, Eliza LoPresti, Susie Beckman, Kevin Armstrong

Call To Order

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Fogliano at 2:05 p.m. The meeting was held via Zoom video conference.

Presentation by and Discussion with Dr. Donald Poland, Goman & York

Don Poland gave a presentation on the demographics and the state of the housing market in the region. His presentation can be viewed here, starting at 4:57. <u>https://youtu.be/aEFruxcdqTg</u> Slides can be viewed at this link: <u>CT RiverCOG - Housing Market Presentation - 08-27-24.pdf</u>

Approval of Minutes of July 23, 2024 Meeting

Mr. Pinkowish moved to approve the minutes of the July 23, 2024 meeting; second by Mr. Lahm. Vote was unanimous in favor.

RHNA Workshop Update & Next Month's Meeting

Ms. Jouflas gave an update that she and RiverCOG staff have been working behind the scenes to set up all information needed for the in-person workshop in September. Some scenarios have been run through and data sources identified; these will all be discussed at the upcoming workshop. We could also have the October and November meetings to be devoted to this topic, if needed.

Other

Chairman Fogliano reminded everyone about the CCAPA housing forum on September 11; information on this was previously emailed to all.

Adjournment

Ms. Bandzes moved to adjourn the meeting at 3:41 PM; second by Mr. Lahm. Vote was unanimous in favor.

Respectfully submitted, Eliza LoPresti